Tuesday, April 17, 2018

MABL Turns 35+ in Jacksonville

Leg meets dry Jax grass
Hey Jacksonville weekend warriors, it might be time to un-retire the cleats one more time. The local MABL is trying to get a 35+ team going this year, and it will hopefully expand after that. Maybe even a league of our own, like Madonna and Rosie O'Donnell. Anyhow, if you're interested, you can find out more on the MABL page.

For this year, I am able to play half on the team I joined in the fall league (Go Kings!) and half on the 35+ team (Go Cubs!). Now that I can actually walk again after injuring my hamstring in the last scrimmage game, I guess it's time to come up with a schedule for the season so that my wife can start complaining. BTW guys, this is a great chance to get out of the house and pretend that you're working out. It's also an excellent way to get injured, as can be seen by my "good" leg in the photo. The other one had a hammy, so it made moving quite delicate the last few days.

I know you're not interested specifically in the games I'm going to play, but I figured I'd add them to the website so that those of you 35+ and looking for a league can come out to a Cubs game to meet the crew. I know you're out there, and I know that a city this size ought to have an 18+ league and at least a 28+ league. In Milwaukee and KC, there were also full 35+ leagues. It will also help my coaches see when they can expect me. And if you do want to show up, bring some ice and Band Aids.

The reason for my decisions on games is simple: I can see better in sunlight than under the lights. This gives me a better chance of seeing pitches from the 18+ pitchers on weekend days (the 18+ teams can't use their youngest pitchers versus the 35+). So I'll play with the Cubs on Wednesday evenings and with the Kings on Saturday or Sunday, which are sometimes earlier games.

If you're reading this in 2019 or later, maybe we'll have all kinds of old-guy teams for you to join, but it will only happen if you decide to get back out there. Oh, and as a challenge, since I know a lot of East Coast guys show up down here. I played for years with a guy from Boston, and while he could swear better than the rest of us, he wasn't really a great ball player. I assume that's pretty normal in Boston and New York and other places where guys like to talk big...see you on the field.

2018 Schedule for ME (fields are listed last). I'm in Milwaukee if struck through, though the July vacation might change. If I get the 16 games listed, that's plenty. I think if I play against the Kings on the Cubs, the games per team would be even, and I'm open to trading games if it makes sense to either team in need of guys. Mainly, I want to make sure the Kings field a winning team and the Cubs have enough guys to make the 35+ league take off. If you want a good article about playing baseball, read the one I wrote a few years back.


Saturday 04/21/2018 1100AM Freedom Kings Woodstock
Sunday 04/29/2018 700PM Kings
Cubs Rondette
Sunday 05/06/2018 400PM Kings Indians Rondette
Wednesday 05/09/2018 730PM Cruisers Cubs Woodstock
Wednesday 05/16/2018 730PM Indians Cubs JP Small
Sunday 05/20/2018 600PM Kings Angels MSA
Wednesday 05/23/2018 730PM Cubs Bulls Marietta

Wednesday 05/30/2018 730PM Cubs Cruisers JP Small
Saturday 06/02/2018 1100AM Kings Freedom Woodstock
Wednesday 06/06/2018 730PM Cubs Kings San Mateo
Sunday 06/10/2018 700PM Kings Suns JP Small
Wednesday 06/13/2018 730PM Cubs Suns Rondette
Wednesday 06/20/2018 730PM Rippers Cubs JP Small
Sunday 06/24/2018 700PM Kings Cruisers Rondette
Wednesday 06/27/2018 730PM Bulls Cubs Marietta
Sunday 07/01/2018 400PM Indians Kings Rondette
Sunday 07/08/2018 700PM Bulls Kings Marietta
Wednesday 07/11/2018 730PM Cubs Rippers Rondette
Sunday 07/14/2018 400PM Indians Kings Rondette
Wednesday 07/18/2018 730PM Cubs Cruisers JP Small
Sunday 07/22/2018 700PM Kings Cubs JP Small
Wednesday 07/25/2018 730PM Cubs Angels Rondette